Preserved Tanks .com
    World Register of Surviving Historic Armoured Vehicles

Current Query: Full entry for the tank(s)/location: by Type and Update, Location & Update with Spare Photos, NavPix & Videos

Query Buttons: Full entry for this tank. All tanks of this type. All tanks at this location.


UNIQUE ID 187: HUMMEL SELF-PROPELLED HOWITZER

Panzermuseum, Munster, Germany

(Location: Panzermuseum)


Powered By Subgurim(http://googlemaps.subgurim.net).Google Maps ASP.NET
Powered By Subgurim(http://googlemaps.subgurim.net).Google Maps ASP.NET

MAP CONTROLS: Use slider or mousewheel to zoom, and hold down left mouse button to drag.
KEY: Location markers are coloured from Green meaning exact to Red meaning gone or unknown (details here)

Sample Photo from Tank with UniqueID 187


Unique ID: 187
Added to Database: May 2008
Last Edited: March 2010
Type (ID): Hummel (100)
Model (ID): Hummel (195)
Location Category (ID): Panzermuseum (100)
Location (ID): Panzermuseum (100)
Serial Number:
Registration:
Name:
Other Identification:
Collection Reference:
Links: Armor for the Ages – top-left picture
References:
Associated Tanks:

Location History:
(see map)

1: Deutsche Eisenwerke AG, Duisburg, Regierungsbezirk Düsseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Sole manufacturer)
2: U.S. Army Ordnance Museum, Aberdeen Proving Ground, Harford County, Maryland, USA (Until 1946)
3: Patton Museum of Cavalry and Armor, Fort Knox, Kentucky, USA (Until 1976)
4: Panzermuseum, Munster, Soltau-Fallingbostel, Lower Saxony, Germany (Current location)


Text in original Preserved German Tanks publication:

This Hummel saw service on the western front. It was captured by American troops in 1944 or 1945 and transported to the USA. In June 1976 it was donated to Kampftruppenschule 2 in Munster by the Patton Museum in Kentucky, USA, and returned to Germany. It was restored in 1981 and 1982 in Panzer Werkstatt 2 Hall 104, and it carries a plaque crediting the work to “Weber Worzischek, Fischer Lippert-Sonnenberg, Noroschat Cölton”. It is in running order and carries the name “Anton” on the gun. It has the early style driver’s compartment and idlers but has all-steel return rollers.

Text in Preserved German Tanks Update:

This Hummel was one of two Hummels that originally came to Fort Knox via Aberdeen Proving Ground; they were part of the original Patton Collection pieces that arrived in 1946 (source: D. Moriarty).

Images - Photographs and NavPix (click to expand or browse)

Date Unknown

Front left view
1: Front left view

Taken: Date Unknown
Contributor: T. Larkum
Photo ID: 100
Added: 29 May 2008
Filename: Scan_Hum...
Views: 121
Select/Has Priority: 1/0