Preserved Tanks .com
    World Register of Surviving Historic Armoured Vehicles

Current Query: Full entry for the tank(s)/location: by Type and Update, Location & Update with Spare Photos, NavPix & Videos

Query Buttons: Full entry for this tank. All tanks of this type. All tanks at this location.


UNIQUE ID 1446: M26 PERSHING TANK

(Model: M26)

Patton Museum of Cavalry and Armor, Fort Knox, USA

(Location: Museum Building)


Powered By Subgurim(http://googlemaps.subgurim.net).Google Maps ASP.NET
Powered By Subgurim(http://googlemaps.subgurim.net).Google Maps ASP.NET

MAP CONTROLS: Use slider or mousewheel to zoom, and hold down left mouse button to drag.
KEY: Location markers are coloured from Green meaning exact to Red meaning gone or unknown (details here)

Sample Photo from Tank with UniqueID 1446


Unique ID: 1446
Added to Database: 29 December 2010
Last Edited: 26 April 2011
Type (ID): M26 Pershing (1620)
Model (ID): M26 (1624)
Location Category (ID): Patton Museum of Cavalry and Armor (67010)
Location (ID): Museum Building (67020)
Serial Number: 134
Registration: 30128476: “USA 30128476” painted on glacis.
Name:
Other Identification: White stars painted on turret sides and glacis.
Collection Reference:
Links:
References:
Associated Tanks:

Location History:
(see map)

1: General Motors - Fisher Body Division, Grand Blanc, Genesee County, Michigan, USA (Primary manufacturer November 1944 - End 1945)
2: Rose Barracks, Vilseck, Oberpfalz, Bavaria, Germany (Firing range May 1970)
3: Göppingen, Germany (Until April 1971)
4: Patton Museum of Cavalry and Armor, Fort Knox, Kentucky, USA (Current location)


Text in original Preserved American Tanks publication:

[No entry]

Text in Preserved American Tanks Update:

[No entry]

Text in original Preserved Tanks In USA publication:

This M26 was found on a firing range at Vilseck, West Germany, in May 1970. It was restored at Pinder Barracks by 1st Battalion of 22nd Artillery, 4th Armored Division, and presented to Major-General Cobb and Brigadier-General Patton. They donated it to the museum and it was transferred from the 4th Armored Division, Göppingen, in April 1971. It is in running order and is displayed with its hatches open. There are steps up to a platform above its engine deck so that its interior can be viewed.


Images - Photographs and NavPix (click to expand or browse)

June 1983

Front right view
1: Front right view

Taken: 30 June 1983
Contributor: T. Larkum
Photo ID: 4108
Added: 29 December 2010
Filename: Scan_M26...
Views: 72
Select/Has Priority: 21/0
    

 

Front left view
2: Front left view

Taken: 30 June 1983
Contributor: T. Larkum
Photo ID: 4109
Added: 29 December 2010
Filename: Scan_M26...
Views: 67
Select/Has Priority: 21/0
    

 

Front view
3: Front view

Taken: 30 June 1983
Contributor: T. Larkum
Photo ID: 4110
Added: 29 December 2010
Filename: Scan_M26...
Views: 83
Select/Has Priority: 21/0